top of page

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA): a Journey, not a Program

What is the RCIA?

The RCIA is the process through which persons (adults and children) join or complete their initiation into the Catholic Church. 

Who is the RCIA for?

The RCIA is for three groups of people:

  1. Those who are not baptized.

  2. Those who were baptized into another Christian denomination and wish to enter into full communion with the Catholic Church.

  3. Baptized Catholics who were never formed in the Catholic faith and have not completed their initiation; that is, who have received neither of the sacraments of Confirmation and Holy Communion. 

How does the RCIA work?

RCIA consists of four periods of formation which are marked by rituals that celebrate what has been completed and call a person into the next phase. There is no specific length of time for each period. The RCIA is a journey that "takes as long as it takes", according to each individual. The Stages and Rituals of the RCIA include:


  1. The Inquiry or Precatechumenate 

  2. The Catechumenate

  3. The Lenten period of Purification and Enlightenment 

  4. Mystagogy (a time of deeper understanding of the "mysteries")

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA)

To find out more, call your local Catholic Church and tell them you are interested in learning more about the Catholic faith.

Already Catholic? RCIA is not just for converts, it can help you too!
If you have a question about the Catholic faith, or need a refresher on "what" we believe and "why", the answers are available for you. Just ask!
bottom of page